What is the ECSRC?

On 24 November 2000, the Eastern Caribbean Securities Regulatory Commission (ECSRC/Commission) was established as an independent and autonomous regional regulatory body with the signing of the ECSRC Agreement 2000, among the Governments of the member territories of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU).

The ECSRC commenced operations on the 19 October 2001 alongside the formal launch of the Eastern Caribbean Securities Market (ECSM) and continues to positively impact on business activities in the ECCU to strengthen the movement of capital and resources across member countries and the wider region.

The ECSRC in accordance with the legislative requirements protect investors from unfair, improper and fraudulent practices, to foster a fair, efficient and transparent securities market.  The ECSRC also promotes financial stability and the growth and development of the ECSM.

This is accomplished by: