Regulatory Structure

There are two regional regulators in the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union; the Eastern Caribbean Securities Regulatory Commission (ECSRC) regulating securities related activities occurring within the Member Territories, and the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB), which regulates financial institutions licensed under the Banking Act. 

Each Member Territory has domestic Regulators, who regulate other financial services and products, which are not regulated by either the ECSRC or the ECCB. As a consequence, the industry is regulated along sectorial lines.

The ECSRC is a member of the Council of Securities Regulators of the Americas (COSRA) and the Caribbean Group of Securities Regulators (CGSR) and as such upholds the principles promulgated in these associations.